Three-Legged Dog

Mom was watching some post-op videos on amputees this morning.  She came across this one, and showed it to me.  She said it reminds her of me a little bit–this is way too much energy for me to put forth on anything.  Fetch is for Labs, and that goofy border collie-Yorkie brother of mine, Chance.  I’m far more into sleeping and eating and truck rides.

But I thought I’d share it with all of you.  I especially like the song.  The intro is a little slow, but once it gets going, it’s pretty neat!

 


Note from Mom:
It can be very difficult to make the decision to amputate your dog’s leg. As humans we’re filled with the emotional aspect of “she’ll be crippled!” and “is it cruel?” and “but it looks so odd..”  We put our emotions on our dogs, relate it to the trauma of a human amputation, and we forget… dogs are dogs.  They aren’t programmed the way we are.  If you’re struggling with whether to do so or not, I hope this video takes away some of the human aspects and puts it back in dog view.

Leave a Reply

